Brita · Pitcher · discontinued
Brita Stream Filter-as-You-Pour pitcher: what it removes and what it costs
Model: Stream pitchers Rapids (OB55, 10-cup), Hydro (OB56), Cascade (OB57, 12-cup), UltraSlim Stream dispenser (OB59); filter OB05
The Brita Stream Filter-as-You-Pour pitcher is certified (NSF/ANSI 42 and NSF/ANSI 53) to reduce chlorine. It is discontinued; the closest current model is the Brita Tahoe pitcher (Standard filter) ($37).
See the Brita Tahoe pitcher (Standard filter) · Check price on Amazon
1
certified reductions we track
—
filters per gallon at rated life
Price checked 2026-10-23.
What the Brita Stream Filter-as-You-Pour pitcher removes
"Certified" means a certifier (NSF, WQA, IAPMO or CSA) lists this exact product for that reduction claim; the listing is linked. "Brand test only" means Brita cites a lab report but no certifier lists the claim. See certified vs. tested.
| Contaminant | Status | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Chlorine | Certified | WQA listing, NSF/ANSI 42 ("Chlorine (taste & odor)") |
Not verified, either way (no certification or brand claim): PFAS, Lead, Chloramine, Fluoride, Arsenic, Nitrate, Chromium 6, Mercury, Microplastics, Cysts, VOCs, TDS, Bacteria and viruses, Iron, Copper, Uranium, 1,4-dioxane.
What it costs to run
Yearly cost = replacements per year × filter price, for each filter it uses; a filter is replaced at its gallon rating or its month limit, whichever comes first. Water use: drinking and cooking water (0.28 gallons per person a day, EPA's average adult intake).
| Household | Gallons a year | Filters a year | Total a year | Per gallon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | 102 | — | — | — |
| 2 people | 204 | — | — | — |
| 4 people | 409 | — | — | — |
Replacement filters
| Filter | Rated life (gallons) | Rated life (months) | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brita Stream Filter OB05 | — Source noteFilter life is not stated on the archived brand pages we could retrieve, so it is left blank rather than filled from memory. web.archive.org | — Source notenot stated on archived brand pages retrieved | $6.99 Source notebrita.com price in Wayback snapshot of 2021-04-19 (historical); $8.99 in a 2018-08-20 snapshot. The filter is no longer listed on brita.com. web.archive.org |
Specs
- Type
- Pitcher
- Price
- $35
Source note
Rapids 10-cup Stream pitcher (OB55), brita.com price in Wayback snapshot of 2018-08-20 (historical). Cascade 12-cup (OB57) was $39.99 (snapshot 2018-04-08: https://web.archive.org/web/20180408125203/https://www.brita.com/stream-pitchers/cascade/). web.archive.org
- Installation
- None
- Capacity
- 0.625 gal
Source note
Rapids is a 10-cup pitcher per archived brand page; Cascade is 12 cups (0.75 gal) web.archive.org
- Needs power
- No
Common questions
What does the Brita Stream Filter-as-You-Pour pitcher remove?
The Brita Stream Filter-as-You-Pour pitcher is certified (NSF/ANSI 42 and NSF/ANSI 53) to reduce chlorine. It is discontinued; the closest current model is the Brita Tahoe pitcher (Standard filter) ($37).
What should I buy instead of the Brita Stream Filter-as-You-Pour pitcher?
It is discontinued; the closest current model is the Brita Tahoe pitcher (Standard filter) ($37).
Does the Brita Stream Filter-as-You-Pour pitcher remove PFAS?
It has no certifier listing or brand claim for PFAS reduction.
Data checked 2026-10-23. 102 filters tracked.